Canadian · Professional Licensing

OAA architect lookup.

The Ontario Association of Architects keeps a public OAA Directory. This page links to it and works out the OAA’s published renewal dates for individuals and for practices. It does not search the directory for you.

Short answer: Use the OAA Directory for the record. The OAA lists individual renewals on January 2 and practice renewals (Certificates of Practice) on March 1.

Source: OAA Directory and OAA fees and renewals pageSources retrieved October 2026

Advertisement

What the OAA says the directory covers

The OAA describes its directory as the place to confirm an individual’s status and to find a practice to work on a project. It covers architects, licensed technologists, interns, students and others affiliated with the OAA, along with any discipline history. A person can therefore appear in the directory without being an architect, so read the category on the result.

The OAA’s fees and renewals page gives two dates:

  • Individual renewals: January 2.
  • Practice renewals (Certificates of Practice): March 1.

That page does not state the licence year or late-renewal rules, and neither does this guide. For those, use the OAA’s renewal pages and bylaw schedule.

Next renewal date

Renewal date
Defaults to today. The date is used only in your browser.

Press Find next deadline.

The OAA page read for this guide does not state late-renewal rules, so none are shown.

Check the official register

Open the Ontario Association of Architects (OAA) register in a new tab. The OAA’s result, not this page, is the authoritative record.

oaa.on.ca — the regulator’s own link to its register.

Find an OAA Member (OAA) ↗

Why you’d check an architect

Common reasons are hiring for a renovation or new build, checking that a drawing was prepared by a licensed person, confirming a firm holds a Certificate of Practice, or reading any discipline history before signing a contract. The OAA directory is the Association’s own listing for this.

Architect, technologist or practice

The directory mixes individuals and practices. An individual’s licence and a firm’s Certificate of Practice are renewed on separate dates, which is why this page offers both dates. If you are hiring a firm, check the practice entry as well as the named architect.

Before you search

The renewal calendar

Since individuals renew on January 2, a check done in the last days of December is looking at a licence about to be renewed. Practices renew two months later, on March 1. The calculator below only does the date arithmetic; the directory is what shows status.

What a register result can and cannot tell you

A register entry reflects what the regulator holds on the date you look. It does not rate quality of work, and it is not a recommendation. If something looks wrong or out of date, contact the regulator.

Sources, retrieved October 2026: OAA Directory; OAA fees and renewals.

Frequently asked questions

How do I find an architect in Ontario?

Use the OAA Directory, linked on this page. The OAA describes it as the way to confirm an individual’s status or find a practice.

Who is listed in the OAA Directory?

The OAA says it covers architects, licensed technologists, interns, students and others affiliated with the OAA, along with any discipline history.

When do OAA members renew?

The OAA’s fees and renewals page lists individual renewals on January 2 and practice renewals on March 1.

Does this page verify an architect?

No. It performs no search and cannot confirm anyone’s licence.

Guide only — not a verification tool

This page does not check anyone’s registration, does not copy or proxy the register, and nothing you might type here is transmitted anywhere. The renewal calculator is date arithmetic on the dates the regulator published; it cannot tell you whether anyone has renewed. This page is not affiliated with or endorsed by Ontario Association of Architects (OAA). Use the official register linked above, and contact the regulator if you have a concern. Information was read from the regulator’s public pages in October 2026 and may change.

Advertisement
Advertisement