Canadian · Health numbers

Health card number format by province.

How many digits is a Canadian health card number? It depends on the province. This page lists what each government actually states, flags the provinces that do not publish a digit count, and lets you see which formats a number could fit.

Short answer: Alberta, Manitoba and Saskatchewan use 9 digits; PEI uses 8; Ontario and BC use 10; Quebec uses 4 letters plus 8 digits. New Brunswick and Nova Scotia publish no digit count that we could find, and Newfoundland and Labrador's length is unsettled.

Source: Provincial government sources, linked belowRetrieved 15 October 2026

Advertisement

Check a number

Digits, or Quebec letters plus digits. Spaces and dashes are ignored.

Result

Enter a number and press Check.

ProvinceNumberFormat stated by the governmentSource
AlbertaULI / PHN9 digits, 99999-9999guide
British ColumbiaPHN10 digits, first digit 9, Mod 11 check digitvalidator
ManitobaPHIN9 digits (separate 6-character registration number)guide
New BrunswickMedicare numberDigit count not stated in any government page found. A Department of Health billing manual uses the placeholder 111111126, which is not a statement of format.NB billing manual
Newfoundland and LabradorMCP numberClaim field holds 12 digits; the Department notes that most cards have fewer than 12. A 2008 notice calls it a "twelve digit" number. Treat length as unsettled.MCP physician manual
Nova ScotiaMSI health card numberDigit count not stated on the MSI pages found. Check the card.MSI health cards
OntarioOHIP health card number10 digits plus a 1-2 letter version code, MOD 10 check digitvalidator
Prince Edward IslandPersonal Health Number8 digitsguide
QuebecRAMQ number (NAM)12 characters: 4 letters + 8 digitsvalidator
SaskatchewanHSN9 digitsguide

Why some rows say "not stated"

We only list a length when a government source says it. For New Brunswick and Nova Scotia we could not find one, so we do not guess. For Newfoundland and Labrador the physician manual says the claim field holds 12 digits but that most cards carry fewer; the 2008 MCP newsletter calls it a twelve-digit number. The card itself is the authority.

Ontario and BC

Both are ten digits and both have dedicated validators on this site that apply the published check-digit rules. Use those rather than this length guide.

Shape is not proof

Matching a length narrows the field to a few provinces; it never proves a number was issued. Only the province can confirm coverage.

Sources

Frequently asked questions

How many digits is a health card number in Canada?

It varies by province: 8 in PEI, 9 in Alberta, Manitoba and Saskatchewan, 10 in Ontario and BC, and 4 letters plus 8 digits in Quebec.

Which provinces do not publish a health number length?

We found no government statement of the digit count for New Brunswick or Nova Scotia, and Newfoundland and Labrador's sources disagree, so the table says so instead of guessing.

Can I tell the province from the number?

Only partly. Several provinces share nine digits, so length alone cannot identify the issuer.

Can this tell me if my health card number is valid?

No. This page checks shape only and never contacts any provincial plan.

Format check only — not a verification

This page checks the shape of a number only. It does not query, copy or proxy any provincial register, cannot confirm that a number was issued, belongs to anyone or is current, and does not verify identity or coverage. Anything you type stays in your browser. Rules change, so confirm against the sources cited above before relying on it.

Advertisement
Advertisement